Now the story

This weekend, we decided to have fun despite the weather. We packed almost everything that we had in the basement, just like we put them, 3 years ago. On Saturday we woke up at 6 am, a little grumpy because we didn’t sleep well and the heat was pretty bad and hit the road.

We met our grandsons on the highway, in Otopeni. We stopped at Mc Donald’s to get some coffee and plan the road. The morning was pretty cold and the sun had just risen. After the small talk we got back in the car and we started the journey.

I let my mom take the right seat passenger as I wanted to relax and enjoy a book I post pone for too much time.

wp-image-1413484365

 

The road wasn’t too busy until Comarnic, one of the busiest touristic station in Romania. The traffic jam was huge and we lost almost one hour because of it. Here are some photos from the road.

20170729_095911

20170729_102627

 

The view was spectacular. All those trees surrounding us, the road’s curves being tight, the radio playing, created the best setting for a trip to the mountains. I could only smile and let myself be filled with gratefulness and peace.

We got on the peak at the Dichiu Cabin, getting to the cross-road that separates the way to Padina, from the one that leads to Piatra Arsă Cabin. This is the perfect spot for taking photos.

20170730_142818_Richtone(HDR)

20170730_143343
Sheep coming down.

After we reached the valley of Padina, we went looking for the best spot to camp. It had to be near the river, plain ground, and somehow close to the woods.

20170729_120101

And thankfully, we found it soon. The wind blew strongly and the temperature was like 14 degrees Celsius while I was wearing a basic shirt and shorts. Too cold. We had lunch, trying to not let the wind blew the table or the food and then decided camping.

We unpacked the tent, only to discover it was useless. One of the bars was missing. The one that supported the roof. Apparently, we lost it the last time. It was a lost cause, but my dad didn’t give up. He was angry as he hates being unprepared, so he tried to fix it using scotch. Fail.

Ok.

The only option left was that my parents sleep in the car (gladly, my car has its back seats folding) and me with my godson, in their tent.

Or we could try getting a room at the nearest cabin, Padina. Me and my god-daughter climbed the hill on which the cabin was on and we tried our luck. We spoke to the owner and found out there was a single double room left, with the bath on the hall.

We took it, just in case, and rushed to our camp. There were my dad and my grandson trying to unfold the second tent. I was already upset about how things went and angrily, I fixed the tent on my own. To our disbelief, it was almost my size. It said to be for 2 persons. I was the only one small enough to get in there.

I was at the edge of breaking. I felt sick, it was cold, I would have to sleep alone in the tent, it was midday already and nothing seemed to work out. Except laughing.

All the time we had spent trying to put the tents, we laughed. Why? Silly jokes. It was the only way to keep a good mood, otherwise we would have came for nothing.

I couldn’t handle the situation anymore so I went to sleep. In the tent. I woke up thirsty and with little air left to breath. That’s how small the tent was.

Then I heard some familiar voices (not the ones I came with), to find some family friends. As the talk went by I found out their son had his own room, a twin one, which he would be willing to share with me.

But I felt uncomfortable.

The day went by and we made a BBQ for dinner. We used coal, but the wind blew so strong, that it burnt them immediately, leaving the meat to be dried in an instant, without really being cooked.

Then we made a camp fire in order to not freeze.

20170729_195629(1)

20170729_210717_Richtone(HDR)(1)
The sky didn’t seem friendly.

The only good thing that happened during the night was the sky full of stars. While I went to the cabin (I decided to take that single bed offer because the car was too tight) I looked up to the sky. I saw thousands of stars, that formed something like a curtain. I felt better, relived of all that anger that filled me.

The next day, the sun burnt so bad I had to wear shorts and a sport bra. I really wanted to go home, but we wait until midday to do so.

IMG-20170730-WA0003
Me trying to get into a good mood. My boyfriend cheered up all the time so I thought I could smile at least for him.

When I got home all I could do was fall asleep in an instant.

When I look back to that weekend, the anger vanishes and a small smile appears. All in all, it was a family experience, and I believe that everything happens with a reason, so maybe I had something to learn from this.

 

I can't wait to hear you out!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close